Cross Country Skiing

One day I was walking around Lyon helping my roommate Alex do surveys on random French people, for his school project. We were asking all these questions about their perfume habits, since Alex is studying to be a perfumer.

We were almost done and about to go home, when I felt a tap on my shoulder, it was my friend Guy Jacques. I had met him and his wife through Lyon International, and they had me and some other students over to their house for dinner, a couple months ago.

He was in town for business, and after running into him, he spontaneously invited me to go cross country skiing with him and his friends. I couldn’t pass up an opportunity like this, so I said yes, and the next day there we were…

About an hour and a half out of Lyon, way up in the mountains, towards Switzerland. There were only little stone and wooden houses, sparsely spread out from each other.

A little creek.

Guy Jacques and his friend Marie-Fredrick.

Guy and Me!

This cabin had wooden gutters! That’s pretty old.

This is in a valley, where you can rent out a cabin or a yurt and stay over night. The sign says “No Made Attitude.” I had no idea what they are trying to say there.

A lonely little house.

When we got to the top of this ridge, you could see the Swiss Alps. The clouds were cascading down like Niagara Falls. It was amazing-looking.

A French version of a Jeep, out in the middle of nowhere.

This was my first time skate skiing, and I had to teach myself. After about five hours, I was ready to die. I can’t remember being that tired in a long, long time.

I am really lucky.

Leave a Reply

